FAQ

How to expand my network?

To connect with other members, go to "My Network" and click "Networking". There you can either enter a name or part of a name below to search for already registered members and decide who you want to send a contact request to. You can classify contacts into the categories "family", "friends" or "acquaintances".

Alternatively, you can invite someone who is not yet registered. Enter the complete email address of this person, e.g. max.mustermann@gmail.com, fill in surname, first name and category and send the invitation. In both cases, the person you invite must accept the invitation in order for you to be connected.
Conversely, in the "My Network" section you can also see which contact requests you still have open. You can accept or reject them with one click.

Hoes does the import from Google or Facebook work?

In order to help you set up your Palitree network, you can import your own contacts from your Google and Facebook accounts. After importing, you can decide for each contact individually whether you want to invite them to your Palitree network or not. Contacts you deselect will be deleted immediately and not saved. If you select this feature, your contacts will be automatically synced and those already active on Palitree will be matched. Facebook limits the import to those contacts that are already registered as users on Palitree and that have registered via Facebook.

Can I disconnect with a contact?

Yes, if you are connected to someone, you can either temporarily block or permanently remove that contact. In both cases, the database will treat you as if you were not connected. The mutual visibility and bookability of objects as well as any existing Co-Owner-Connections will thus also be cancelled. However, if you disconnect with someone, this person still might be able to see your acommodation, if you have a common direct contact and if yur accommodation is set for indirect contacts.

Why do I need to connect with other users?

Palitree is a sharing network. As with any social network, the more people you connect with, the greater the benefits. As soon as you are registered as a user, it is therefore important to connect with others - only in this way can you see the objects of other members. And only then the objects offered by you are visible or bookable by others.

What is the difference between direct and indirect contacts

Direct contacts are other members on Palitree with whom you are directly connected. A connection (= direct contact) on Palitree corresponds to what are "friends" on Facebook.
Indirect contacts are all contacts of your own direct contacts. In other words, the "friends of your friends", if your friends are networked with them on Palitree.

Why is there a distinction in direct contacts between "family", "friends" and "acquaintances"?

This corresponds to the reality of life, because we have different social proximity or different trust to our social contacts. Therefore it is up to you whom you classify as "family" (e.g. you can also classify a very close friend as "family" and a cousin, to whom you have hardly any contact, only as "acquaintance"). By default, new contacts are assigned to the category "acquaintances". You can change the contact category in the profile view of the respective user.
On Palitree, this distinction is relevant because you can not only set different discounts for the different categories, but you can also share your objects for example only for "family" and "friends", but not for "acquaintances".

How do I communicate with other users?

The message function enables you to communicate with your networked contacts. Via the message function you can exchange details about advertised objects and coordinate your bookings with each other. Messages at Palitree are always object-related and can only be exchanged if they relate to a object listing. (We do not intend to substitute WhatsApp :-) ).

Can I contact a host, before sending a reservation request.

Yes. The messaging function is always available to all registered users.

Will it be seen by another user, if I have rejected (ignored) his contact request?

No. The connection status will be shown to him / her as "answer pending".